Puglia is a region of Italy in Southern Italy bordering the Adriatic Sea in the east, the Ionian Sea to the southeast. Puglia forms the “heel”f the Italian “boot.” South of Italy is a hidden gem since most foreign tourists overlook this part for the sake of seeing the North of Italy. (Click here if you want to know why). In Puglia tourists can see first hand what the “real” Italy is like. It is also cheaper because you encounter fewer people who speak English and less signs in seven foreign languages. However, in this area has as many sites of historical and cultural significance as the north of Italy. See some examples below. 


In Puglia province one may find nice hidden jewels such as Polignano a MareBari (port city), Brindisi (resort area) and Otrano are the three famous cities on the Adriatic sea. This cities are in a driving range from Matera, a town that has first human settlements dated 5,000 BC. These first human settlements are in the visual range from the first christian settlements. Mel Gibson used this historic site as a set for “Passion of the Christ.” Alberobello is another unique town that has houses called trulli.There is no other place in the world where one can find this type of construction. Finally, this area has a Gravina – European version of the grand Canyon – that cuts through 5 provinces and there is a Grotto discovered by chance at the beginning of the 20th century. The grotto “Caves of Castellana” boasts stalactites and stalagmites and many other incredible geological gems.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s